Highs & Lows Week of March 20th

Morning! Got fun plans for the weekend?

Looking to read previous installments of Highs & Lows? Here they are: March 13th, March 6th, February 27thFebruary 20th, February 13th, February 6th!

If you’re just popping in, these are the posts I published this week.

Highs

Snow fun! Massive amounts of snow aren’t all bad! After spending an entire day digging trails and building slides in our back yard, Margs enjoyed zooming around in her sled! We went round and round and round again. In all, I think Mer and I dug out over 3km of trails for her to enjoy. Now, as the weather slowly warms up we’re hoping that the trails will keep at least for another week so baby girl can get a little more enjoyment out of them!

trails

Baked Oatmeal. This turned out so well! Margs, Mer and my mom all enjoyed eating this for breakfast all week. It’s a great frugal breakfast idea! Not only is it delicious but I used up some apples that were on the mealy side so it cut down on some food waste too. Such a great, easy and delicious breakfast that warms up so well in the microwave!

oatmeal.jpg

[1]

If you’re interested the recipe can be found right here: Healthy Baked Apple Cinnamon Baked Oatmeal

Bargain toddler clothes. Margs has managed to outgrow basically all her pajamas (again!). I headed over to the consignment shop and I was really disappointed to see that the owner is now splitting up the 2-piece pajama sets. At 3 or more bucks for each piece I decided to shop around and sure enough I found pajamas for 4$ a set at a local liquidation shop.

The material is super comfortable and soft and they fit her quite well so I’m pleased!

Lows

Margs got pushed. More on this next week but yeah my kid got pushed (intentionally) for the first time and I was heartbroken. I honestly thought I had at least another year or two until I’d have to deal with this sort of thing. In a nutshell, older kid pushed Margs down because she didn’t want to share her toy at play group. Kiddo just wanted to play so it was disappointing to see her excluded like that. #mustgrowthickermomskin

Stranger Things spooks me a little. I don’t really do well with sci-fi, horror or thriller. Mer decided that he wanted to watch so we’ve been watching a few episodes every night. Um, anyone else a little freaked after watching? I mean, parallel universes? It’s really good but it plays with your head a little no? Maybe I’m just a wimp?

strangerthings

QOD

What are your highs and lows for this fine week of March 20th?


Giving credit where credit is due:

1/ http://www.kimscravings.com/2016/10/healthy-apple-cinnamon-baked-oatmeal/

Save

Save

Author: Jenny

I'm Jenny, a 30-something mama to 1 living child and 5 angels. I live in a tiny blue cottage in a small suburb outside a major Canadian city. I live here with my miracle baby Margs, my husband Mer, my pup and my 2 cats. I blog about a bunch of different things including parenting, frugal living and minimalism. Feel free to subscribe to my blog and follow me on instagram, twitter or bloglovin.

23 thoughts on “Highs & Lows Week of March 20th”

  1. Ugh, not looking forward to the first time my lo gets pushed or picked on. Cue #mamabear instincts…
    Question about your use of photos in your blog – are you a photographer (amateur or professional?) and do you have training in graphic design for your featured images? I struggle to make good use of pictures in my blog and you make it look so effortless.

    Like

    1. Hey Amy! So I don’t always take the photos myself. I use a few royalty free websites that do not require attribution. Good ones include (pexels, pixabay). For the editing I turn to picmonkey. It’s super easy to use and free!

      If you have any questions let me know!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. The oatmeal looks delicious and I am most definitely going to try to make it. Also, despite everyone telling me I *must* watch Stranger Things – I’m putting that on hold. My pregnancy dreams are already crazy enough and a story based on a mom losing her little boy sounds like the opposite of what I should be watching. (I just finished re-watching 30 Rock – it was even better the second time around.)

    For me this week (since you asked), a high is consistently drinking more water. Apparently I love drinking anything as long as it is through a straw! A low would be skipping prenatal yoga, again. I get so excited for it all week and then Thursday night rolls around and I’d rather stay in and make dinner than venture out into the cold.

    Like

    1. It’s a strange show. It’s REALLY good – in the sense that it’s very well made but it makes you ponder things that well can freak you out a little!

      Like

  3. The first time my daughter was pushed on purpose, I almost lost it. lol, it is hard to deal with seeing our kids deal with those type of things. Hopefully, it doesn’t happen again anytime soon! The oatmeal looks so good! And I LOVED Stranger things. It did spook me out a little just because it was so out there and it makes you think. Have a great weekend!

    Like

    1. I really really had to control myself 🙂

      We finished watching it last night and man, I’ve got so many questions!! Like the eggos in the box at the end! Does that mean what I THINK it means?

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Hey! Those snow trails look amazing! Well done! 🙂 Its always awful when you see your child get pushed over or not included in something, it never gets easier and is heartbreaking for them too, whatever age they are. My high is joining a walking group today and walking 5 miles! It was a scary thing going and meeting new people but off I went on my own and met some lovely people and really enjoyed my morning! Have a great weekend!

    Like

      1. Have fun and happy early mothers day! Here in north america mothers day is in May! I had to google to make sure I hadn’t gotten confused and forgotten when it was!

        Liked by 1 person

  5. I really want to try that baked oatmeal. I have to speak on stranger things too because we are a dnd playing house. My husband started playing with his parents when he was a kid, so the show makes more sense because the monsters the parallel universe, all of it, are in the games.

    Like

    1. The oatmeal is really quite good – we enjoyed it!

      I’m not really knowledgeable about dnd! I’m going to have to do some research so I understand better before they release the second season!

      Like

Leave a Reply

