Life behind the blog – a day in the life at 15 months

behindtheblog

Good morning!!!

Hope your week is going well so far!

Some of my very favorite blog posts are ones that give me a peak into what a bloggers day to day life is like. I guess it’s part curiosity and part wanting to compare my own lifestyle to others that make them so fun and entertaining to read. So, today I’m giving you a peak at what my life is like behind the blog – a day in the life sort of post.

Please be warned that my days are pretty boring. As a stay at home mom I thrive when Margs and I follow a routine so there’s absolutely nothing spectacular going on most days. Generally, we stick to the same routine to keep things flowing well.

Here we go:

6:56 am – Margs wakes up for the day. Mer and I snuggle with her in bed for about 10 minutes before we take her downstairs into the living room. Mer changes her diaper while I put on a strong pot of coffee.

7:30 am – Mer and I enjoy our coffee and chat about the days plan while Margs’ plays independently in her pack n play. Currently she’s obsessed with puzzles – she can play with the pieces for hours. Mer and I usually discuss things like dinner plans, errands and any pressing issues we need to take care of.

coffee

8:00 am – I give Margs her breakfast – I rotate between french toast, scrambled eggs and whole wheat waffles. She usually has one of those with a yogurt and a few pieces of fruit. While she eats I check my email, WordPress notifications and do other blog related things like answering comments, emails or twitter notifications.

8:15 am- Margs drinks some water while watching some cartoons. In the meantime I unload the dishwasher, wipe down the counter tops, sweep the floor and tidy up after breakfast.

8:30 am – Margs and I read books, play with puzzles and practice walking running.

books

9:00 am- Margs gets a morning bottle and hopefully takes a nap.

9:30 – 11:30 am – I pull some ground beef out of the freezer to make a meatloaf for dinner. I open the package and let it rest on the counter to defrost. I start laundry, clean the powder room and fold a batch of clothes that were in the dryer. I then sit down and and catch up on blog reading with a cup of tea. At around 11, I make Margs’ lunch – minestrone soup with egg noodles is on the menu today.

laundry.jpg

12:00 pm– Margs and I eat lunch.

12:30 pm – I get Margs dressed in her winter gear and we head out for a walk. She’s not a huge fan of her stroller but once we get moving she settles down and enjoys the ride.

1:30 pm – Back at home. After undressing Margs and putting her snow gear away I prepare a bottle and we snuggle on the couch while she drinks. Today she decides she doesn’t want to nap.

2:00 pm – I work on dinner while Margs zooms around the house. I take breaks to chase her and she runs around giggling.

2:30 pm – Margs and I have a tea party, play with dolls and play with more puzzles.

dolls

2:45 pm – Margs is extra fussy and should nap but wont. I put on a Teletubbies episode on Youtube so she can relax.

3:15 pm– She’s a little less fussy and we get back to playing. I haul her upstairs to put away the laundry. She watches me from her pack n play in our room

3:30 pm –  I put her winter gear back on so we can play  in the driveway. Her “friends” get home around this time and she loves “playing” with them.

4:00 pm – We’re back inside – I pop dinner into the oven and give Margs a snack (Cheerios and a slice of pear) While dinner cooks we play with crayons. She hasn’t quite understood that she needs to color with them – she continues to try and eat them.

crayons.jpg

4:15 pm– Margs pitched all the crayons on the floor. I pick them up and she laughs. I put her on the carpet with a bunch of toys and she plays alone. I check on dinner.

4:30 pm – Margs is getting fussy, she’s likely hungry but dinner isn’t ready yet. We play with her giant rubber ball to pass some time. She loves when I throw the ball up in the air and it hits the ceiling.

4:45 pm – I put Margs in her high chair and I give her some veggies that were left over from the night before. She’s really hungry and getting more and more upset.

5:00 pm –  I pull the meatloaf out and slice Margs a piece. I teach her to blow on her food when it’s too hot.

5:30 pm – Margs has finished eating. I clean up her high chair and the floor around her.

5:45 pm – I give Margs a bath and wash her hair which makes her really upset. She splashes water everywhere.

6:00 pm – Mer gets in and we sit and eat our dinner. Margs sits in her high chair and eats her dessert – usually a piece of fruit.

6:30 pm – Mer makes Margs a bottle while I load the dishwasher and clean the kitchen. I collect bottles, sippy cups and pacifiers from all over the house so they can be sterilized. They read books and cuddle before bed.

reading

7:00 pm – Margs is asleep in her cot.  Mer comes back downstairs and makes sure the baby monitor is positioned correctly. We sit on the couch and catch up on our day. Mer always asks me “did Margs do anything new today?”.

7:45 pm – Margs is sitting up in her cot crying. I head upstairs and try to soothe her back to sleep. She isn’t having it.

8:00 pm – Margs is back to sleep but on the couch with us. We turn down the t.v so we can hear what we’re watching (The Kindness Diaries) but not wake her up.

8:30 pm – Mer carries Margs back up to her cot. We’re crossing our fingers that she wont wake up again. I sit behind the computer and start drafting a new post for the blog.

blogging.jpg

9:30 pm – Mer tells me he’s off to bed. I opt to keep writing a little while longer because I’ve got a bunch of ideas I want to get down before I forget about them completely. He kisses me goodnight and heads upstairs.

11:00 pm – I shut down the computer, close all the lights, check that all the doors are locked and head up to take a shower before bed.

11:30 pm – I crawl into bed and cross my fingers that Margs will have a good night.

12:00 am – Margs wakes up screaming. Soothing her isn’t working so I carry her into our bed. She falls asleep quickly and we sleep snuggled together until morning.

When do you squeeze in blogging time?

 

Save

Author: Jenny

I'm Jenny, a 30-something mama to 1 living child and 5 angels. I live in a tiny blue cottage in a small suburb outside a major Canadian city. I live here with my miracle baby Margs, my husband Mer, my pup and my 2 cats. I blog about a bunch of different things including parenting, frugal living and minimalism. Feel free to subscribe to my blog and follow me on instagram, twitter or bloglovin.

49 thoughts on “Life behind the blog – a day in the life at 15 months”

  1. I always try to squeeze in some writing at work when I have some downtime. Usually it’s in a notebook but sometimes I’m lucky enough to whip the MacBook out and get it into the drafts.

    Like

  2. I’m job hunting at the moment so I have all the free time but when I’m working, I prepare blog posts at the weekend and as I post every 5-6 days, I spread it out a bit more so I don’t burn out

    Like

    1. what field are you in?

      Weekends are pretty much out of the question here so I tend to do blog late at night which I actually enjoy because it gives me some “me time” ya know?

      Like

      1. I’m not qualified for anything, even though I went to uni. I’ve got no actual skills so I do minimum wage jobs which gives me transferable skills but not a solid CV. I get that night is your time, I prepared posts in the evenings sometimes when I worked

        Like

      2. You do have transferable skills! We all do actually. I worked as a university guidance counselor for some time and it’s amazing how many skills you have but don’t acknowledge.

        Like

  3. It is interesting to see what other bloggers are up to throughout the day! I feel inspired to post something similar. 🙂 I usually try to squeeze blogging in during the early morning (like today!) or my daughter’s quiet time in the afternoon.

    Like

  4. As a SAHM I can relate to your schedule- the week can seem repetitive and boring at times but just like your day, mine is always busy and go-go-go from the time I wake up to the time I go to bed. I try to squeeze in some blog time in the mornings because it’s the only time of day I have about 30 minutes to myself. 30 minutes isn’t nearly enough time to finish a blog let alone read other people’s blogs so I will do this also sometimes during naps or when my husband gets home from work and can take over a bit. I wish I could blog daily, but I just haven’t found out how to make that work yet!

    Like

    1. I’m experimenting with 5 posts this week and it’s not as easy as I thought it would be. I might be reverting back to 3 which although busy I can handle. It really isn’t easy!

      Like

  5. That was a fun post! A day in the life. We are going through sleep training right now with our youngest so I understand your bedtime struggles. Strangely our 2 year old does not like to sleep in our bed. I pull her into our room when the baby is being too loud but she just wants to go back to her bed. Funny girl!

    Like

    1. Sleep training is HARD. Best of luck!! I hope you see results! 🙂

      Also, that’s awesome that your toddler enjoys her own bed! We’re hoping our little one decides that she likes her bed… eventually.. too 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I blog while nursing my Monkey to sleep lol! He is way too busy when he is awake for me to do chores so nap time is cleaning time

    Like

      1. Thanks! I owe it all to the WordPress phone app and the magic of mom’s being able to do everything one handed lol!

        Like

  7. I am just a student but I am not this organized. Wow. That was pretty fascinating to read. I laughed so hard at the crayon eating part. Ah! kids… They’re so sweet. You’re doing a wonderful job.

    Like

  8. My kids make it a little hard to get quiet time at home to write. But I go to school on Tuesdays and Thursdays and I write in the time between my classes…like right now 🙂

    Like

  9. That’s a busy day! My day is very slow! I don’t work, I can’t get around well, so it’s a lot of time in bed or on the couch, as I am disabled. So I can blog at will. Lol I just have settle down and concentrate. My posts are usually informal and not too long. Frequently I am just posting a recent painting which I post with a little writing.

    Like

  10. I love Day In The Life blogs too! This was a fun read 🙂
    I squeeze in blogging when my baby sleeps, since she is still only sleeping on or next to me, so I can’t do much else!
    This post made me want a dishwasher…

    Like

    1. Ha! This is the FIRST time in my life that I have a dishwasher and let me tell you, it’s revolutionary.

      And, I’m such a weirdo that I refused to use it until very recently. I think the fanciness of it scared me off. My husband sat me down and we had the “talk” about using the appliances.

      Liked by 1 person

  11. I squeeze in blogging at 4 AM to 6 AM, before anyone wakes up. I have to start heading to work at 7 AM and I’m not home until 6 or 7 PM, so evenings are usually a no-go. Today’s unusual that I’m actually online in the evening! Usually I’m starting to get ready for bed by now 🙂

    Like

  12. Wow, this was a fascinating read! I work from home with my about-to-be 15 month old and our lives and schedule are so very different from yours. Interesting insight and reminder that kids are so different and lives can differ greatly from family to family. Thanks for sharing. You’ve inspired me to write my own “day in the life” – at 1:30 AM because that’s when I have time to read and write blogs. 😉

    Like

  13. I usually blog while I’m at work. I have a pretty chill desk job where a majority of my day is just spent sitting around waiting for something to happen. I usually stick my blog time in there somewhere. For some reason when I’m home I don’t feel like doing it at all! I love your structured day, I wish I had something like that. I typically work night shift, but since I’m part time and pick up a lot of extra hours on the side I find myself working all kinds of shifts, like today is 7am-7pm. My life has no idea what consistency is. I suppose there are ups and downs to both sides. I’m sure you get bored, and I know I get crazy. The best is probably somewhere in between–having a routine, but changing things up now and then. The differences in my days aren’t so bothersome, but not having a steady sleep schedule can get a little crazy sometimes. My body never knows if it should be awake or sleeping, which pretty much just means I’m tired all the time! I don’t know how you moms do it! I don’t even have the energy for myself most days! You kick butt lady!

    Like

Leave a Reply

