Have courage and be kind

 

kind.jpg

Reach out to someone who needs you.

Send a kind email to someone who needs a little sparkle in their day.

Compliment someone randomly without wanting anything in return.

Buy a friend a cup of a coffee just for being an awesome friend.

Leave your partner a post it note telling them why you love them.

Read your kiddo an extra bed time story.

Enjoy the moment with your family. The laundry can be folded later.

Say hello to a complete stranger.

How have you been kind today?

Save

Author: Jenny

I'm Jenny, a 30-something mama to 1 living child and 5 angels. I live in a tiny blue cottage in a small suburb outside a major Canadian city. I live here with my miracle baby Margs, my husband Mer, my pup and my 2 cats. I blog about a bunch of different things including parenting, frugal living and minimalism. Feel free to subscribe to my blog and follow me on instagram, twitter or bloglovin.

52 thoughts on “Have courage and be kind”

    1. It’s so hard because we know there are things that need to get done at the expense of spending quality time with those we love. It’s okay to put it off – it’ll get done eventually.

      Like

      1. I constantly have this struggle too but I also have issues with drawing the line. When does it changes from being kind and understanding what matters to simple procrastination.

        Like

      2. Very good point. I’m a big procrastinator and I have to watch myself and not allow myself to avoid doing things because I think I’m enjoying the moment. What seems to work for me is making sure I get my to-do list done even if it means staying up later than the rest of the family. I’ll often fold laundry, unload the dishwasher and wash the floor at 10pm 😜

        Like

  1. Always a good thought to be kind to someone daily .Practically sometimes difficult but sweet words cost nothing but buy everything.
    read my blogs .leave your comment
    brijkauldiary.com

    Like

      1. I’m really out of the Disney loop to be honest. This is probably the first Disney movie I’ve watched in a very long time. I have some catching up to do I guess.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I love this reminder. It also sounds like we have a lot in common, Jenny. Nice to meet you! ❤️​ I teach for universities here and there, but I predominately focus on my kiddos.

    Like

  3. Made my husband coffee and breakfast, packed his lunch, ironed his work clothes and opened the gate at the end of our driveway, because it’s raining and I didn’t want him to get soaked. A little act of kindness can go a long way. Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Today I did several mitzvahs (good deeds). 10p in the charity pot, buying bread for the homeless woman, returning a dropped hat to a mum with a baby and returning a wallet after a man dropped it on the street. Quite the boaster I am today

    Like

    1. you’re Jewish! My fathers family is orthodox. 🙂

      I can’t tell you how thankful that mum probably is! I’ve lost one of Margs shoes/boots/mittens so many times and the one time a guy actually honked at me to let me know I’d dropped a shoe I gave him a Starbucks gift certificate I had in my purse. Replacing baby things gets expensive!

      Also, boast away!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I am. I’m Iraqi Jewish. I’ve been meaning to ask about your friend who makes the similar dish that I mentioned with pomegranate molasses, where is she from? And what a lovely exchange between you and the starbucks honker 😛

        Like

      2. In a way. Iran is different in language and a bit different in food to an extent but the ingredients are all the same. Pomegranate is a staple flavouring in the ME

        Like

      3. That’s what she told me too.

        A few years back she went home to visit family and brought me the most incredible pistachios that were picked fresh then roasted with lemon juice and sea salt. They were incredible! Store bought pistachios are just not the same anymore.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. I’m pretty sure I could probably make them myself. The issue is the type of pistachio! The ones she brought were HUGE – probably the size of an olive or bigger. The ones available here are tiny compared to those!

        Like

      5. Yeah it’s crazy. They are SO expensive.

        I’ve actually made one of her recipes. The base is artichoke heart and it’s stuffed with a ground beef/rice/cinnamon/pom mixture. I went to a local ME grocery store to buy the POM and pine nuts and literally fell over when they bagged up my pine nuts at over 18$. There was maybe a cup? maybe.

        Needless to say, if I make it again I’m leaving out the pine nuts!

        Liked by 1 person

  5. I wrote a giant stack of letters to companies that make products I like and I’ll be mailing them out later this week. Never hurts to throw a kind word out there…with all the negativity in the world today I always love sending out a positive vibe!

    Like

  6. I try to do things like this every day. It makes ME feel better and it is always nice to see someone get that extra oomph in their step after you compliment them. I have had some of the homeless in my town tell me that the fact that I look them in the eye and say hi means more to them than anything.

    Like

  7. We LOVE doing a good deed daily. Since we homeschool, it is especially fun to think of a BIG good deed to do on Fridays. I am hopping the habit will STICK when my son grows up. I really enjoyed your post! I love reading your blog… I will visit again soon when I have TIME! Have a super day!

    Like

Leave a Reply

