Highs & Lows – Week of February 27th

february27th

If you’re interested in reading previous installments of Highs & Lows go here, here and here!

If you’re looking to catch up on this weeks posts, this is what’s been going on around these parts:

Highs

Hosting my very first giveaway here on This Tiny Blue House. I’m super excited folks, I’ve got an amazing giveaway lined up for Monday morning! Make sure to check back for a chance to enter to win something that has really stolen my heart. When I started this blog in November, I never thought this blog would be anything more than an online journal (it still is in certain respects) with really no audience. I’m realizing that the blogosphere is just an incredible place with so many amazing people and opportunities!

I’ve lost 4 lbs! Recently, I’ve gotten really serious about trying to lose the leftover baby weight. Actually, my weight gain came after Margs was born which is pretty ridiculous if you think of it. Basically, poor food choices for convenience led me to gain a few extra pounds and I just wasn’t in the right frame of mind to really tackle the problem until now. I don’t plan to blog about healthier eating or weight loss because I’m not doing anything ground breaking, just eating better and moving more. But, I might include some progress updates in my weekly Friday roundup posts. I’m 4lbs closer to my goal weight so that’s definitely a high for this week!

low-carb-cabbage-rolls

[1]

Trying out two new amazing and healthyish recipes this week. I’m trying to watch my carb intake and decided to make these low carb cabbage rolls for dinner on Wednesday. They were SO good and so satisfying and created a ton of leftovers for lunches. And, for dessert and breakfasts this week I’ve been enjoying this flourless peanut butter mug cake. It’s so easy to make and packed with protein (I omit the sugar altogether).

f3bf035daef05dfd03556f2bb5d67367

[2]

Lows

Concerns with my consignment. Man, I’m a little bummed and worried guys. I passed by the consignment shop on Tuesday to have a look at new summer stock and asked about my own shop balance. The lady who owns the place quoted me a number that just made no sense and when I asked her to itemize the items she’d sold there were a bunch of things I’d brought in that were no longer in the store but not on the list. When I listed off the items that were missing she told me that she hadn’t updated the system yet but guys I got such an uneasy feeling about it. Mer had warned me to keep track of exactly what I brought her and how much she was selling it for and I should have known better and listened to him. She told me she’d email me with an updated list by the end of the week and I’m still waiting. Just, not cool.

My right hip has been bothering me all week. I have some issues with my back muscles and hip joints since coming off bed rest. Every once and awhile my hips “flare” up which makes climbing stairs really difficult. It started on Monday evening and it’s till bothering me quite a bit. I’ve been doing hot soaks at the end of the day which do help some but I’m just about ready for this pain to go away. I really take my mobility for granted most days and chasing after a very active toddler is pretty tough when every step you take hurts. Hoping for some relief soon!

What are your highs and lows for this fine week of February 27th?


Sources

[1] http://www.lowcarb-ology.com/cabbage-rolls-without-carbs/

[2] http://kirbiecravings.com/2014/05/flourless-peanut-butter-mug-cake-3.html

Save

Save

Author: Jenny

I'm Jenny, a 30-something mama to 1 living child and 5 angels. I live in a tiny blue cottage in a small suburb outside a major Canadian city. I live here with my miracle baby Margs, my husband Mer, my pup and my 2 cats. I blog about a bunch of different things including parenting, frugal living and minimalism. Feel free to subscribe to my blog and follow me on instagram, twitter or bloglovin.

13 thoughts on “Highs & Lows – Week of February 27th”

  1. I’m going to have to try those cabbage rolls, they look delicious! Back pain is something I’ve lived with off an on for years. Ever since I started eating Kale on a regular basis, the frequency has diminished significantly. Most times, I just cut it up into small pieces and saute it with other vegetables. Not the best tasting stuff, but a sprinkle of lemon pepper really cuts the bitterness.

    Like

  2. I’m going to have to try that peanut butter mug cake. It looks super yummy.

    A high for this week is having all my blog post written in advance! And celebrating my husbands birthday!

    A low would be spending $200+ at walmart on unnecessary things. Well not all unnecessary. But some of it was, and I’ve talked myself into returning it rather than keeping it for no reason.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. The mug cake is really good. One day I added some flax to the mixture and it was wonderful. One morning I was in a bit of a rush so I made it and topped it with half a banana for a super easy and quick breakfast.

      As for Walmart – I feel you. I used to be like that and would get home and look at what I bought and just laugh at myself. Walmart has that effect on people. Now ,I roughly tally how much I plan to spend on whatever it is I need and bring CASH no debit or credit cards. This way I’m forced to only get what I really need!

      Have a lovely weekend!

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

