Blogger Recognition Award

When I spoke about my tiny piece of internet real estate last week I mentioned how humbled and shocked I was that anyone would take the time to read what I have to write. I’m even more shocked that I was nominated for a blog award! Me? A blog award – my gosh, I never ever thought that would happen. Ever.

My blog posts are often written in a hurry, during Margs’ naps or late at night in the dark while Mer and baby are snoozing. I write because it helps me keep my jumble of thoughts in order, I write because I love connecting with other like minded people and most importantly I write because I enjoy it.

pexels-photo-132650

Thank you to Brandi from Our Little Ways for the lovely nomination. She’s a former math teacher like me (small world hunh?) and she writes a lovely blog with a ton of really interesting posts about frugal living. So, do check her out! Her blog is a wonderful read and has a bunch of delicious recipes too!

Rules:

  • Thank the blogger who nominated you and provide a link to their blog.
  • Write a post to show your award.
  • Give a brief story of how your blog started.
  • Give two pieces of advice to new bloggers.
  • Select 15 other bloggers you want to give this award to.
  • Comment on each blog and let them know you have mentioned them and provide the link to the post you created.

blogger-recognition-award

How my blog started:

I pretty much covered it when I wrote about my blog last week. But, in a nutshell I somehow wanted to create a space where I could write about parenting after loss and how we live a simple and frugal lifestyle despite the fact these topics are disjointed.

A couple of pieces of advice:

  1. Write about what you are passionate about because it’s the only way you’ll find your authentic voice. I really believe that authenticity brings value to the blogging world. I’m far more attracted to blogs where the writer has a voice and uses it. Write about what you are passionate about, enjoy and love. I can chat your ear off for hours talking about money saving ideas, frugal hacks and living simply which is why I write about it- I love love love these topics.
  2. Interact with your readers. I read every comment, email, Instagram message and tweet. Why? I believe that anyone who takes the time to send me a message (both positive or negative) deserves to be responded to. I love interacting with my readers and appreciate every single form of communication. I can’t tell you how disappointing it is to read a blog, leave a thoughtful response and not ever be acknowledged for it. It kinda hurts really – I take shit personally that way. So, interact with your readers – respond, spark a conversation, communicate – that’s what this is all about right?

My nominations:

Here are the wonderful blogs I’m nominating for this award. I’ve also included a link to my favorite post they’ve written! Enjoy!

Happy reading folks! I’ll be back Thursday with a couple of thoughts on minimalism!

What is your favorite blog read these days? I’d love to add new blogs to my reader!

Save

Author: Jenny

I'm Jenny, a 30-something mama to 1 living child and 5 angels. I live in a tiny blue cottage in a small suburb outside a major Canadian city. I live here with my miracle baby Margs, my husband Mer, my pup and my 2 cats. I blog about a bunch of different things including parenting, frugal living and minimalism. Feel free to subscribe to my blog and follow me on instagram, twitter or bloglovin.

48 thoughts on “Blogger Recognition Award”

  1. Thank you for the nomination Jenny! I’ve enjoyed being a part of an awesome group of bloggers and thanks for your tips. I agree that taking the time to answer your comments and interact with your readers is important and you are a great example of how its done! Keep up the good work ❤

    Like

  2. Thanks for giving me a place on your list of best blogs. I wasn’t sure anybody out there was reading. And keep on with what you are writing. It brings me back to a lot of lessons learned without the help of other bloggers. Great blog!

    Like

    1. Sorry forgot to mention about the advices you gave for new bloggers. I am a new blogger and loved them. The second one reflected truly my mindset about the readers and comments. Thank you.

      Like

  3. Thank you so much for this nomination. I’ve been busy with other things for the past month and haven’t been on here much, thus the reason for my tardy gratitude. I adore your blog. You give off good, grounded vibes and I gain something from every post. It’s an honor to be nominated by you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

