That time my kid turned 1

Today is Margs’ first birthday. She’s 365 days old. I’m still not entirely sure how this past year has passed so quickly but I do know that she has changed our lives in so many beautiful ways. She restored love in our life and relationship. She is the reason we smile everyday and count each and every one of our blessings. She is the reason we’ve been able to find happiness again.

7088dde5dff69f24cc721f7d4e04ac21

Margs is our miracle baby.

She was born after I’d experienced a still birth and 2 miscarriages totalling 5 angel babies that we never got the opportunity to take home. Two of my lost pregnancies were twins. She came after 4 years of battling infertility, dealing with a hemorrhage that nearly cost me my life, and multiple surgeries to correct my uterus that was misshapen and not conducive to growing a baby.

I was told I had a 10% chance of ever bringing home a living baby.

Margs arrived here safely last December as the result of an amazing team of doctors, a cervical cerclage and 161 days of strict home bedrest.

She is here and she is so worth all of the above.

Today will be a quiet day for us. Mer and I just want to enjoy our little miracle.

In honor of Margs’ birthday, here is the song that was playing the moment I met her for the first time. It just happened that this track was playing in the birthing room at the very moment our bundle joined us earthside.

We still listen to this track and dance to it every single day.

You are mine Margsy. I love you kiddo. I would not have had this journey any other way no matter how hard it was to get you here – you were worth every millisecond of it.

Author: Jenny

I'm Jenny, a 30-something mama to 1 living child and 5 angels. I live in a tiny blue cottage in a small suburb outside a major Canadian city. I live here with my miracle baby Margs, my husband Mer, my pup and my 2 cats. I blog about a bunch of different things including parenting, frugal living and minimalism. Feel free to subscribe to my blog and follow me on instagram, twitter or bloglovin.

38 thoughts on “That time my kid turned 1”

  1. I have been hopping around your blog, reading here and there… Wow. Your story is amazing, you are amazing! I admire your will and discipline. And I wish you many, many happy years with your wonderful daughter! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

