A peek in my closet & the perks of having a smaller wardrobe.

Here’s my closet.

IMG_1643

I currently own: 35 tops (some are not pictured here), 10 bottoms, 4 bags (including a back pack) and 6 pairs of shoes. To some it might seem like a ton of clothing but I’m coming from a place where I hoarded clothes so this is a huge step in the right direction for me. All these pieces fit correctly, are comfortable and most importantly are suitable for my current clothing needs as a stay at home mom. There are a few casual shirts that I’m considering doing away with but for now I’m not convinced that I’m better off without them – so I’m putting that on the back burner for now.

I organize it so that like items are together so my hanging clothes from front to back include cardigans, long sleeve bulky winter sweaters and knits. T-shirts and lounge wear are folded in an armoire along with tights and jogging pants.  On the wall shelf to the left, I have one shelf of shoes, a shelf of bottoms, one shelf of bags and a box that holds important mementos like photos. On the upper shelf there is an empty overnight bag, a small box that holds the deed to our home and other important documents and an umbrella.

Mer’s half of the closet is virtually identical. Here’s a partial shot of his shelf portion that I snapped while trying to get the best angle of my stuff. It’s organized much the same way.

IMG_1647

Mer and I donated another 80 or so items of clothing over the weekend (mostly his stuff – since my wardrobe has really been paired down to a minimum ). These items were just sitting in boxes waiting to be unpacked. He took one look at the stuff and decided that since he hasn’t used it in over six months we’d just donate the lot instead of cluttering up our limited closet space.

Living this way and adopting a more minimalistic approach to our wardrobe(our whole life really) is proving to have a few very clear advantages.

1/ Getting dressed is a breeze. I’d often spend a good 20 minutes ruffling through my messy closet or armoire hunting for something to wear. I’d try on various bottoms and tops and get frustrated when items didn’t fit correctly. I’d then lump them up and shove them wherever they fit to just be done with it. This led to chaos and a really disorganized closet space. Now, I know that everything fits well, I know exactly what I have and I grab the items I want for the day. A smaller amount of clothing makes the getting dressed portion of my day far less stressful.

2/ My daily outfits are more varied. Ironically,  I wear more items of clothing now than ever before. I assume it’s because I now know that every piece in my collection fits correctly and I don’t reach for “safe” choices anymore. I used to get so frustrated (See #1) that I’d just wear the same thing over and over again. Now, I mix and match more freely and feel far better about what I’m wearing.

3/ I take better care of my clothing. I now have the space to house my clothing and take care of it properly. I’m no longer dealing with too many clothes and a lack of space. Folding, hanging and organizing them is easy and I want to do it wheras before it was more of “shove it anywhere it fits” situation. The result is that my clothing is always organized and hopefully it’ll improve each items longevity.

4/ Doing laundry isn’t a hassle anymore. I used to hate laundry day because (See #1, #2,#3) it required I fold and find a home for clothes. I’d often leave clothing laying around because it was easier to just store it in Margs’ crib (she doesn’t sleep in there). Eventually, the clothing would pile up so much that I wouldn’t be able to find pieces of clothing I was looking for – our room also always looked like a tornado had gone through. Now, our laundry is simple because every item has a home – putting things away is simple and takes me less than five minutes.

Author: Jenny

I'm Jenny, a 30-something mama to 1 living child and 5 angels. I live in a tiny blue cottage in a small suburb outside a major Canadian city. I live here with my miracle baby Margs, my husband Mer, my pup and my 2 cats. I blog about a bunch of different things including parenting, frugal living and minimalism. Feel free to subscribe to my blog and follow me on instagram, twitter or bloglovin.

30 thoughts on “A peek in my closet & the perks of having a smaller wardrobe.”

  1. Kudos to you on your closet! I definitely keep a lot of clothes I haven’t worn in months and not because of the weather. 😦
    Your closet has lit a spark in me to go home and clean mine out. It sounds so much easier than what I go through every day.
    Thank you for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Quite honestly, my closet was an absolute disaster before. I hated getting dressed because it was this never ending process of trying something on, being disappointed by the way it fit and just shoving it wherever because I was so irritated by the whole thing. You’d think that cutting down the number of clothes would be harder to make outfits with but it’s really quite the opposite.

      Have fun doing it! I found a ton of joy in the process.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I should share this with my mom! She has clothes from the 90s in containers in the basement that don’t fit her anymore. She still hoards a lot of clothes that don’t fit anymore and she tells me, “I’ll fit into them again,” so she wants to have those clothes when she slims down.. but it’s been years and years and years… Frankly our whole basement is filled with clutter and boxes of stuff that we don’t need. It’s a mess!

    Like

    1. I think this is a pretty common habit – to a certain extent we all want to fit into our stuff again. But, I look at it this way – keep only what you need right now and worry about the rest later.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. OVERWHELMED and a Hoarder of clothes! So true! I know that feeling and I did one big purge, but have many more to go. I just keep thinking that I’ll wear it, and put outfits together and then forget what I put together when that time comes. It’s a process for sure. Great job!

    Like

  4. Ha! That’s nothing compared to mine. I’ve got quadruple the amount of stuff despite regular decluttering. But I do wear my stuff in different ways all the time and part of the fun of the day is deciding what to wear so I’m not letting go of so much so soon

    Like

Leave a Reply

