Winter wonderland + My thought process on reducing the number of clothes in my closet.

Morning! It’s a beautiful snowy mess in these parts today. I woke up to this and I could not be happier. Absolutely beautiful! (Excuse my large blue recycling bin – Monday is recycling day)

IMG_1537

Over the weekend Mer and I spent time decorating the house. Saturday, the weather was absolutely stunning so we took advantage and finished hanging our outdoor displays.

Later that evening we put up our tree and hung our ornaments.

IMG_1538

This charming Santa is one of my favorites. I love his tiny boots and oversized belly. Margs had no idea what was going on but did laugh and giggle as I let her touch each ornament before I placed it on the tree. Without wishing time away, Mer and I both look forward to Margs understanding the notion of Christmas better since it’s by far our favorite holiday.

In other news, I donated 74 articles of clothing over the weekend. I’m still nowhere near done purging through our excess clothing but 74 items is a huge step in the right direction.

PicMonkey Image

On Friday, I got to work sorting through the items. Pieces that were extremely worn, stained or otherwise unwearable got tossed.  I then separated the remaining clothing into 8 bundles (plus a maternity bundle), photographed them and then placed them into bags that were labeled with the corresponding bundle number.

Photos were then uploaded to my local Facebook donation group with the following message:

Hello, I’ve got a ton of clothing to give away. I’ve split the clothes into bundles so that as many people as possible can benefit.

Each bundle is labeled with a number and is ready to be picked up. All the clothes belonged to me and either don’t fit or don’t get worn enough to actually keep. Many of the items are new and have never been worn because I tend to buy stuff without trying it on first :/

If you are interested please comment below with which bundle you want to pick up. The only thing I ask is that if for whatever reason the items don’t fit – you pay it forward.

I’ll continue to post bundles as I make my way through my closet.

IMG_1533

I’m happy to report that all these items were rehomed within a few hours. Hopefully, whoever has taken them is enjoying them as much as much as I should have.

The “I should have” in the previous paragraph brings me to the real point of this post. I’ve been really thinking over how many excess items I was able to pull out of my armoir and closet without much effort on Friday and trying to understand both how I accumulated so much stuff and why I accumulated it.

I’d like to point out that a good chunk of that clothing photographed above was brand new (namely the jeans and hoodies) which really is an important fact when trying to understand how this happened. 

First and foremost, I’m a lazy shopper. I wrongly assume that because I wear X size, all jeans in X size will fit me which leads to buying without trying on (99% of the time these items do not fit as they should and I never get around to returning). Rinse and repeat for things like hoodies, shirts, bras and cardigans. Clearly, this hasn’t been working for me.

Second, I’m guilty of not acknowledging my clothing needs and not respecting my comfort needs. In other words, I buy things that I think look cool but are not very comfortable or useful in my day to day life as a stay at home mom. (Think – hoodie with beads that although looked rad scratched up my neck because of all the friction caused when lifting Margs). That hoodie clearly never got worn again.

So, all this rambling to basically sum up that I need to be far more intentional and purposeful when I shop. I need to focus on acquiring items that fit well, are comfortable, well made and useful to me on a day to day basis.

These points are essentially the check list I used to help me sort my closet Friday 

    1. Does the item fit properly? (if not, instantly in the donation pile – hoping to fit into an item in the future only leads me to hoard more)
    2. Is the item practical and useful? (Can I take care of Margs in it?)
    3.  Is the item something I would feel good wearing? (Because feeling good is important too!)

Up next, my lingerie drawer.

Author: Jenny

I'm Jenny, a 30-something mama to 1 living child and 5 angels. I live in a tiny blue cottage in a small suburb outside a major Canadian city. I live here with my miracle baby Margs, my husband Mer, my pup and my 2 cats. I blog about a bunch of different things including parenting, frugal living and minimalism. Feel free to subscribe to my blog and follow me on instagram, twitter or bloglovin.

4 thoughts on “Winter wonderland + My thought process on reducing the number of clothes in my closet.”

  1. Great work. I’ve now developed similar questions for buying new clothes:
    1) does it fit me now? 2) does it look fantastic? 3) does it fit well with my existing wardrobe (but isn’t a duplicate?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

